1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

New to Forum. I need help please!

Good day everyone,

I'm an SEO newb, virgin, whatever you want to call it. I have read through some of the posts in this forum and it looks like I've stumbled upon a meeting ground filled with well versed, intelligent people that know the in's and out's of SEO. Exactly what I'm looking for!!!

In a nutshell, I'm a printer. While I do have extensive knowledge with computers and a certain understanding of websites (well.... I have enough knowledge that I could go into my page files and change things but don't necessarily know what to change them to.) I'll use the analogy of me knowing how to add oil to my car but not necessarily knowing how to crawl under it and actually do an oil change.

In other words, I have very basic knowledge with websites. This term "SEO" is loosely referenced in my limited world as "that internet thing you need to do so people can find your website". I'm hoping some of you can shed some light on some questions I have.

I've read about this Google Penguin update. From my point of view, (which is clearly based on ignorance) some are calling it the great plague. Others say it's good. Whatever the case may be, I'm striving to understand it a bit better and get more involved with my website as an online presence is extremely important in today's business world.

Personally, I think I have a fairly decent website. It's attractive, easy to navigate, has a ton of content on it but I want to know "how" good it is in finding especially after this penguin update and the amount of time we've spent designing the graphics for it. I've tried to understand it myself before resorting in asking for any help but the time I've spent time staring blankly at Webmaster tools and analytics, clicked here and clicked there is almost criminal and sadly, I am no further ahead now in knowledge than I was before I started.