1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Smile If the domain name contains keywords...

Hi,

So, If the domain name contains keywords for what I want to optimise my site for, does that help in getting higher up the listings? I read that it does but I would like to have more opinions and feedback really.

This is for a small, local business. I have checked the keywords that people search when they want flooring. So it is in Aberdeen and people search "aberdeen flooring", this is the main search as far as I can see with my limited knowledge, I am a Noob to all this. So, if I have a domain called "aberdeenfloorings.co.uk" is that better than "abfloors.co.uk" Will that get me higher up in the list if these 2 sites existed, where brand new and identical in every way except the domain name?

Cheers guys.
  3. Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

Originally Posted by adcnotts@gmail.
    Hi,

So, if I have a domain called "aberdeenfloorings.co.uk" is that better than "abfloors.co.uk" Will that get me higher up in the list if these 2 sites existed, where brand new and identical in every way except the domain name?

Cheers guys.
    Yeah the aberdeenfloorings.cu.uk domain will be better but chances are having that domain alone won't be enough. Ensure your site is friendly for your users and search engine friendly as possible. Build some links from relevant sources and you should be fine, I'd also ensure you have a Google Places listing if you don't already.
  5. Contributing User

Does a Keyword in the domain help you rank for that keyword?

Not in of itself. Just having the domain and doing nothing else will make your site sit there, you will still need to compete with all of the rest of the sites for that keyword or phrase.