1. Contributing User
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

I need guidance on SEOing

I own a local electrical company, I aim towards residential and small commercial electrical work. I made a website in order to get more business. I think it's pretty decent from an SEO standpoint, but I don't think that's going to work on it's own.

I need to know what to do now, how can I effectively do off-site SEO without "cheating"- which is what most people in my position seem to do, but I think it's going to bite them in the *** with the recent changes.

In all my reading about SEO lately, people say to write articles, blog, put new content on your website that will get other people to come read it and link to it, etc. But that seems aimed at bloggers and writers. I'm an electrician, my website is static. I could blog about what color underwear I am wearing that day or how many splinters I received crawling through a customer's attic, but I don't think anyone would care.

There are maybe 4-5 things that I can write that I think normal people (ie, not other electrician) might actually read, such as the in's and out's of connecting a generator to your home. But what would I do with those articles? Post them in a blog on my own website? Would that generate backlinks? People talk about posting articles on other sites to get links, how would that work.

I'm really at a loss here :-(
  3. SEO Since 97
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

Create a blog on your site as a sub page....mysite.com/electrical-blog then start creating blogs about your electrical business, your area, the electrical issues in your area etc. and link to your site pages, Now your getting additional internal links and adding content.
  5. Contributing User

Thanks for the reply.

You've seen my site, should the blog be a different format without the same header, sidebar, and footers? I ask because those already have links to all my other pages.