1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Question Homepage Links or Deep Links?

I have a site with over 12 catergories of leather products. I have been building inbound links to the homepage for the last 3 months and have had some good results in The google rankings.

I however also want to rank well in google for the other 12 catergory pages (these currently do not rank well)

Should I continue building links to the index page (and spread the PR) or should I also concentrate on getting deep links to the other pages too?

Thank you in advance
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)

Originally Posted by williamfor
    I have a site with over 12 catergories of leather products. I have been building inbound links to the homepage for the last 3 months and have had some good results in The google rankings.

I however also want to rank well in google for the other 12 catergory pages (these currently do not rank well)

Should I continue building links to the index page (and spread the PR) or should I also concentrate on getting deep links to the other pages too?

Thank you in advance
    I am no expert so I hope someone pulls me up if I'm wrong but if I wanted to improve the ranking of a certain part of my site I would build links to that part of the site with appropriate anchor text. Also ensure you have links there from your homepage. Maybe start a blog and link to the categories from your blog too.

Good luck and prepare for a long wait - you will get there in the end

Cheers - Glenn
  5. Customized?

In general it is of course good to link also to your categories with the right anchor text.
    I have one "negative" example of a PR6 site linking to a page of mine which is somewhere in the lowest level and nothing improved. neither SERPs nor PR. God knows why
  7. SEO bull
    SEO Chat Adventurer (500 - 999 posts)

Thank you in advance