1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

Home Page/ Site Map and Google

If your home page contains most of the elements of your site map, and your site map is linked on every page of the site, what effect does this have on Google's page rank? Several people here have suggested that having a site map on each page is "good" for google, but I'm not sure how to come to that conclusion in the reading I've done about the suspected algorithms used by Google.

On my web site, the site map is just a page containing all of the internal links, including one back to the home page.

Does the site map ultimately get a PR of its own, and would that be critical for the PR of the home page?

Sorry if these are basic, but I'm very new at this, (and fortunately just doing it for fun.)

Any thoughts?

Dave

www.woodenpropeller.com
  3. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Hi Dave, checked out your site, love the originality of it's content and your unique hobby.

Here are a few suggestions.

If you are not intentionally concentrating PR on certain pages, it would be a good idea to list individual picture pages in your picture gallery in your site-map as well. That way those pages would not get isolated once the PR of your site-map page goes up.

Having a site map on each page certainly makes it easy for the bots to find each individual page, however, I would let the senior members weigh in on whether such concentrated cross linking is a good idea or not.

You have a PR of 1 on your main page. Some pages that are linked to the main page share that PR 1, however, some inner pages do not show a PR or have fractional PR (under 1). You might want to link those pages to other pages which have a PR of 1.

At this point, it's best to get some links from websites with a PR greater than yours. This would help boost your PR.