1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Help with htaccess for beginner

Please, please, can anyone reading this post help by giving me some advice about htaccess. More specifically about how to set expiry dates for my website.

I am a complete beginner, so given my lack of understanding, any answer should be simple for me to interpret.

Google says that to speed up a website it's advisable to create an expiry date in the http headers resulting in the site then be downloaded from disc, as opposed to over the network, until the expiry date arrives. Google says that to achieve this, I should create an htaccess file, containing the necessary expiry information.

I understand the part about opening notepad and creating a blank document to which the expiry date information can be added, but I don't understand what information I should be adding, and how to edit it to my requirements - (just what's needed to set a basic expiry date for everything will do to begin with, as I can presumably always cherry pick exactly what to specifics of the site to cache, and for how long, once I become more familiar with the process) (the exact code to paste into the document for basic - let's say 7 day expiry - would be appreciated).

What's more, I need to understand where to place this document once created, edited, and saved as .htaccess. I also need to know what permissions to set for this document.

These questions asked, there are still more things I don't understand.

While setting the expiry date of my website may well speed its download time, it also means that the search engine will effectively be saving a snapshot, which it will continue to serve to all who visit throughout the period until the expiry date arrives, at which point Google will recheck and save any updated content.