Great community. Great ideas.

Welcome to SEOChat, a community dedicated to helping beginners and professionals alike in improving their Search Engine Optimization knowledge.  Sign up today to gain access to the combined insight of tens of thousands of members.

Thread: Google Warning - Potential Hacking

Results 1 to 4 of 4
Share This Thread →
  1. #1
    Glenn Kilpatric is offline Contributing User SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,017
    Rep Power
    147

    Google Warning - Potential Hacking

    Can anyone help me identify the problem here so I can clear it up please :

    Dear Owner or Webmaster of Kayak, Shore And Boat Fishing - Whitby Sea Anglers Articles And Forums,

    We are writing to let you know that some pages from Kayak, Shore And Boat Fishing - Whitby Sea Anglers Articles And Forums will be labelled as potentially compromised in our search results. This is because some of your pages contain content which may harm the quality and relevance of our search results. It appears that these pages were created or modified by a third party, who may have hacked all or part of your site. Many times, they will upload files or modify existing ones, which then show up as spam in our index.

    The following are some sample URLs which exhibit this behaviour:

    http://www.wcsa.whitbyseaanglers.co....470&h=280&zc=1

    These URLs are using practices that do not follow our quality guidelines, which can be found here: Webmaster Guidelines - Webmaster Tools Help.

    We encourage you to investigate this matter in order to protect your visitors. If your site was compromised, it's important not only to remove the malicious content from your pages, but also to identify and fix the vulnerability. Note that in many cases, this malicious content is hidden through a process known as cloaking. To learn what cloaking is, see Cloaking - Webmaster Tools Help. You can confirm if your site is cloaking by using the Fetch as Googlebot tool: Fetch as Google - Webmaster Tools Help. A good first step towards resolving the problem is to contact your web host's technical support for assistance. It's also important to make sure that your website's software is up to date with the latest security updates and patches.

    More information about how to fix your site can be found at:

    Cleaning your site - Webmaster Tools Help

    Once you've made sure that your site is clean and secure, you can request reconsideration by going to https://www.google.com/webmasters/to...ation?hl=en-GB.
    All The Fun Of The Fair !!!

  2. #2
    KernelPanic's Avatar
    KernelPanic is offline SEO Gun for Hire SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    5,076
    Rep Power
    2559
    I have gotten that before and it's not that a big deal to clean up. Hire someone to clean the nefarious files and update your CMS, boom problem solved. (at least that's how it was in my experience)

  3. #3
    Glenn Kilpatric is offline Contributing User SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,017
    Rep Power
    147
    What are nefarious files ?

    I am on latest release of cms, but a manual reinstall should ensure all files are clean.

    I was wondering if the theme may have been hacked as its the theme that utilises tom thumb which google is flagging as a problem.
    Last edited by Glenn Kilpatric; Dec 13th, 2012 at 06:48 AM.

  4. #4
    joshz's Avatar
    joshz is offline SEO Consultant SEO Chat Scholar (3000 - 3499 posts)
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,339
    Rep Power
    1846
    I actually wrote a great article on this not too long ago.

    You have malware on your site.

    Please read this article - it explains everything: Malware Recovery: What to Do When Google Says You`ve Been Hacked - SEO Chat
    Comments on this post
    • SEOhostingcouk → agrees!
    • KernelPanic → agrees: Great Answer!
    • Chedders → agrees: very informative
    www.V2INTERACTIVE.net - SEO Web Design | On-Page SEO | SEO Audits & Reports | Link Building
    BASED IN ATLANTA, GA. Contact: Skype/Phone/Email (Discounted rates available for SEOChat members only - email seochat@v2interactive.net)
    Please EMAIL me at the above address and do not send Private Messages. I rarely check them and your message will be lost.

Share This Thread →

Become Part of This Conversation

Join NowFor Free!

Similar Threads

  1. South Korea sounds warning after hacking attacks (Reuters)
    By RSS_News_User in forum Technology News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Jul 8th, 2009, 05:03 AM
  2. South Korea sounds warning after hacking attacks (Reuters)
    By RSS_News_User in forum Technology News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Jul 7th, 2009, 09:03 PM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: Aug 26th, 2007, 01:56 PM
  4. Potential New google revenue source
    By earlpearl in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Jun 22nd, 2005, 10:30 AM

SEO Chat Advertisers and Affiliates