Thread: Geo filtering

1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Geo filtering

Hi guys,

I was wondering if one of you experts could possibly shed some light on an issue that I have. I am very new to seo so bear with me.

From what I have read in order to appear in google's country specific results, you must either have a .local domain E.G. a .co.uk or be hosted in the target country. The site in question is hosted in the US and although it has a .co.uk domain name, this redirects to .com. Unfortunately due to internal policy restrictions the site cannot be hosted as .co.uk TLD or be hosted in the UK. It would however be possible to change the redirect to a forward which would grip the .co.uk domain so when a user types it into the browser address bar it won't change even when in theory he/she will be accessing content which is on the .com site hosted in the US. The question is would this be sufficient to appear in google.co.uk when searching for pages from the UK?

Thanks
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I would think that somebody here could provide you with a good DNS entry technique that would solve your problem of hosting a foreign site in the USA. You may host in the USA, but your DNS server(s) can be anywhere in the world. Any suggestions on the best way to do this? For a few dollars extra a year, find a DNS server in the desired country, and enter your target domain there instead of with your American service provider.

Google is able to determine the likely location of most hosts without a domain name such as .uk or .jp. Whether or not they use that data effectively is another matter. I would assume that they do, but I have not had any association with a site outside the USA, so I cannot say for sure.