1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Domain name changes

Hi Guys

OK hope this make sense.

I had a domain name 'peterhaken.com' i'm a photographer but my medium has changed from street photography, to landscape, to surfing, then wildlife and then onto wedding photography.

At first it moved up rankings for wedding photography cornwall from like page 20 to page 4, then dropped down to like page 6 and 7.

Ok then i had a change of thought, perhaps i had just confused search engines...so I put the peterhaken.com back to purely wildlife photography cornwall and already its back to page 1, still needs polishing but basics are there for now.

The wedding site content as been copied to a new domain name www.swankywed.com, both sites are now live, loads of 404 errors on peterhaken, when i search wedding key phrases peterhaken sites still comes up.

What am i best doing to fix links, or add perminant redirects or...rather confused what to do.

regards Pete
    Last edited by Hikin Mike; May 17th, 2019 at 01:27 PM.
  3. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Scholar (3000 - 3499 posts)

My advice to you is this. Don't change domains and don't change venues. Just add content properly.

You are a photographer, you should just add service pages. Your menu is " Home Portfolio " Try this.... " 'Home' 'Photography Services' 'Portfolio' ". Add pages for each of your offered services to the "Photography Services" drop down menu.

Photography Services
    ---- Landscaping Photography
    ---- Street Photography
    ---- Surfing Photography
    ---- Wedding Photography
    ---- Wildlife Photography

Comments on this post

• DirectHits agrees
    If you have never failed in your life, you have never achieved anything Noteworthy !
  5. No Profile Picture

Thank you Ok will take this advice.Though I wonder if a bride looking for a wedding photographer, she or he would not want to see a jack of all trades...