1. Contributing User

Confused linking still good?

I have been doing seo on my site for many years and have good rankings with the search engines. I have been reading as of late that getting links from people is now bad even if they are relevant. Is this true?
  3. SEO Consultant
    SEO Chat High Scholar (3500 - 3999 posts)

It's always been true. Relevant links are key.
    www.V2INTERACTIVE.net - SEO Web Design | On-Page SEO | SEO Audits & Reports | Link Building
    BASED IN ATLANTA, GA. Contact: Skype/Phone/Email (Discounted rates available for SEOChat members only - email seochat@v2interactive.net)
    Please EMAIL me at the above address and do not send Private Messages. I rarely check them and your message will be lost.
  5. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

To be specific, what do you think of this link for a site a friend of mine is working on:

www designstyleguide net/community/alfresco-garden-lunches-conservatory-chill-areas/

It's a blog post with the anchor text 'rattan furnishings' linking to the homepage of www rattan co uk

Is that a good link?
  7. Moderator
    SEO Chat Genius (4000 - 4499 posts)

Originally Posted by Doyle
    I have been reading as of late that getting links from people is now bad even if they are relevant. Is this true?
    Relevant links are always good for your site's rankings. But try to get one way relevant links than links from dirs and reciprocals

SEO FAQs - You might find your answer here.
    SEOchat Forum Rules - Read Before You Post
  9. SEO Consultant
    SEO Chat High Scholar (3500 - 3999 posts)

The area of the link looks decent to me. Granted, not all links will be exact matches, by being in the same industry is a good start.

The best thing to ask yourself is this: "would a visitor from said linking site click on to my site naturally?"

If so, then perfect. If not, then you might want to reconsider the linking page.
  11. rod@missionop.com
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)