|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |
||
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
"This Site May Harm your computer" Is big brother Google on a rampage?
Is it just me or anyone else noticing "This Site May harm your computer" warning on Google search results? Google at last donning a big brother role in a more conspicuous way? IMO Google is definitely goin crazy. Time to start using other search engines as well!
Last edited by cool_nice : February 11th, 2007 at 06:48 PM. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
If you provide the search terms you used to get that result, I might be able to replicate your experience. Since I haven't seen that result, I could be just you. What kind of sites are you surfing? I'm sure you short expose' will convince most people to switch to another search engine. At least tell us which one to switch to. |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
It's a "malware" warning; darn good thing too imho.
Check this page at Googles "Web Search Help Center" for details... it's all there
__________________
ClickyB "The quality of the visitor is more important than the volume".. Egol 22nd Feb 2008
New to SEO? Start Here: SEO FAQForum Rules & Posting Guidelines |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Would be nice to see an example of this.
Can you provide such a search term? |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Search for: freecovers
|
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
I just noticed this nasty business. I searched for "rave infosoft" (I believe they're Indian seos) and instead of their site I got a google page saying "Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!". I follow their 'more info' link here:
http://www.stopbadware.org/reports/container?reportname=http://www.raveinfosoft.com/ And that page says: "Error: No report found for this URL" So... Google is stopping me from visiting a site that doesn't have any bad claims against it? Combine that with the Orwellian bastarization of the word "malware" into "badware", and you've got yourself a 100 billion pound gorilla on the loose |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
If you are driving down a road and a cop flags you down and warns you that there is a escaped convict running lose somewhere up ahead would you be thankful or not? You would be a total idiot not to. Google is only doing the same things. They warn you about possible harm to your computer and you say "ohh I think I will use MSN. They don't warn me. They just sit there while I get trojans" Sorry mate but your either loco or misunderstood something here. It is all good. Google isn't stopping you BTW. Click the little button to tell Google to shut up and you can continue unto destruction. BTW I only seen this once or twice and that was on sites that were already red in the mcafee site warning.
__________________
-Afilliate Seo 101 - The secret to Affiliate success -SeoChat SEO FAQ - Read the FAQ. It may answer your question. -Ultimate Guide to Link Building - What you always wanted to know! |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
i've also noticed "This Site May harm your computer" but i don't think that google has gone crazy. it's just a mesure that google takes to protect the users searching through it.
Imagine that you're searching thru google and google directs you to a site that is full of spyware and virusses? Won't be nice right? So this is very good that google aslo scans the sites for virusses, addware and spyware |
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
I would also be interested in seeing this. I have heard several people mention this type of thing before but I have yet to see it or understand it myself.
BTW. How do I place a link in my sig? |
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
If google suspects a site will infect your computer, why not ban the site from the search results? The webmaster can then play by the books and put a reinclusion request. Instead I hate this big-brother attitude of Google. There is an element of hypocrisy in this approach.
Look at this blog http://www.throwingbeans.org/this_site_may_harm_your_computer.html Last edited by cool_nice : February 15th, 2007 at 04:56 PM. |
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi,
We have premium portal with a PR of 7 and today its black listed in Google and throws a message to the user " This Site May Harm Your Computer" I can understand that there might be some worm download from our Site .. But my question is Ours is a Big portal how can i identify from which place its getting spammed and black listed. We are serving our Ads through Ad Aggregators so we dont have a control of Ads that come in to the site also .. Kindly advice me on the next possible step or any solution to track from where its getting malware !!! Thanks, Balaji R |
|
#14
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
I agree. I have a site fusehair.com . Google has included it in "this site may harm you". My web host has checked and there is no problem with the site. On submitting for review, there has been no reply/review for 72 hours. Theres no way to know what Google finds objectionable in the site and theres no one to contact who responds. |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|