1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Location Targeting Cost

Hello All,

I am relatively new to PPC and work for a business that offers these services.
    We currently run a campaign for our local city and are getting not great results, with CTR or Average Cost.

My boss wants to run a new campaign that targets small locations, like towns and small cities.
    He is convinced that this will yield lower costs, as these specific town names won't have the same competition.

This doesn't sound right to me: surely the cost will depend on the core keyword?
    Also, with such a wide area we won't be able to have targeted adverts, leading to lower CTRs?

Is this right? I honestly have no idea about this and would appreciate some advice on it.

Thanks!
  3. No Profile Picture

Whoops, I meant to post this in the AdWords forum. I dont know how to move/delete this thread now!
  5. Moderator
    SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)

I've moved it
    Don't have enough Adwords knowledge to answer your question though! I'm sure someone will help.

Edit: I do know enough to know, Adwords bidding is based on demand. If you have 20 people bidding on a location, odds are the price will be higher than somewhere which only has 2 people bidding.
    Last edited by matt1966; Aug 6th, 2018 at 06:31 AM.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

It doesn't work like that.

Including town names on the keyword will not put you away from the competition. Example:

personal fitness trainer changed to personal fitness trainer in beverly hills