E-Commerce Development
 
Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
 
 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me
Go Back   SEO Chat ForumsSearch Engine StrategiesE-Commerce Development

Reply
Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
 
Unread SEO Chat Forums Sponsor:
  #1  
Old December 18th, 2004, 09:07 PM
muthuis muthuis is offline
Contributing User
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 175 muthuis User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 1 Day 16 h 2 m 30 sec
Reputation Power: 5
Question Spam issues

I run a content site on a shared hosting environment. Time and again, most of my registration emails are being returned saying my server is blocked.

My issue is I send only one mail when a user registers on my site for verification purposes. Then I occasionally send newsletters and approval/rejection emails about the content from users. But my mails are returned as spam. I never send any unsolicited emails.

I contacted the spam blocking people and they said the server owner should conact them. The hosting company is not doing it and they only change the ip address of the server again and again. This is really irritating. Is there any way/agency where I can register my site/domain as "spam-safe"?

Muthu

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 18th, 2004, 09:31 PM
fryman's Avatar
fryman fryman is offline
Master of the cave
SEO Chat Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mexico
Posts: 1,533 fryman User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level)fryman User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 21 h 27 m 36 sec
Reputation Power: 6
Send a message via MSN to fryman
What does the email you are getting back say?
__________________
Need some free backlinks for your site? Check this out!

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 19th, 2004, 12:55 AM
muthuis muthuis is offline
Contributing User
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 175 muthuis User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 1 Day 16 h 2 m 30 sec
Reputation Power: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryman
What does the email you are getting back say?
The following is the message which is returned.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is a MIME-encapsulated message.

This is the Postfix program at host backupbrain2.rapidns.com.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that the message returned
below could not be delivered to one or more destinations.

For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the message returned below.

The Postfix program

emailaddress@domain.com: host domain-com.mr.outblaze.com[xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]
said: 554 EMail from mailserver at xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is refused. See
http://spamblock.outblaze.com/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (in reply to RCPT TO command)

Reporting-MTA: dns; backupbrain2.rapidns.com
Arrival-Date: Sat, 18 Dec 2004 05:41:55 -0500 (EST)

Final-Recipient: rfc822; emailaddress@domain.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0
Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; host domain-com.mr.outblaze.com[xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]
said: 554 EMail from mailserver at xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is refused. See
http://spamblock.outblaze.com/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (in reply to RCPT TO command)


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
check the message from the link http://spamblock.outblaze.com/209.120.245.254

Thanks
Muthu

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 19th, 2004, 01:37 AM
fryman's Avatar
fryman fryman is offline
Master of the cave
SEO Chat Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mexico
Posts: 1,533 fryman User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level)fryman User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 21 h 27 m 36 sec
Reputation Power: 6
Send a message via MSN to fryman
Seems like your hosting company had some spammers once and they got blacklisted, check out this page

http://help.excite.com/email/bounce.html

You should move out and look for another host.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 19th, 2004, 01:44 AM
SEO_AM's Avatar
SEO_AM SEO_AM is offline
B afraid.. B very afraid!
Click here for more information.
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Land of enchantment... deserts of the Southwest
Posts: 6,166 SEO_AM User rank is Second Lieutenant (5000 - 10000 Reputation Level)SEO_AM User rank is Second Lieutenant (5000 - 10000 Reputation Level)SEO_AM User rank is Second Lieutenant (5000 - 10000 Reputation Level)SEO_AM User rank is Second Lieutenant (5000 - 10000 Reputation Level)SEO_AM User rank is Second Lieutenant (5000 - 10000 Reputation Level)SEO_AM User rank is Second Lieutenant (5000 - 10000 Reputation Level)SEO_AM User rank is Second Lieutenant (5000 - 10000 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 2 Months 3 Weeks 3 Days 6 h 22 m 37 sec
Reputation Power: 61
I would contact your host first. We host with Verio, I think the largest, and they periodically have problems also. AT&T blocked all of our emails. We contacted Verio and they got it cleared up with AT&T. It can happen to any host as far as I know. Any other comments or experiences?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 19th, 2004, 02:29 AM
muthuis muthuis is offline
Contributing User
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 175 muthuis User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 1 Day 16 h 2 m 30 sec
Reputation Power: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEO_AM
I would contact your host first. We host with Verio, I think the largest, and they periodically have problems also. AT&T blocked all of our emails. We contacted Verio and they got it cleared up with AT&T. It can happen to any host as far as I know. Any other comments or experiences?

This is actually happening for the third time. First I contacted the anti-spam guys. They informed me to contact them thru the hosting company. When I contacted them, every time these buggers just do an IP renewal to get a new IP. They are not trying to find a permanent solution. I have paid for 1 more year's hosting.

I am not even worried about the money. But the biggest worry is maintaining the SERP rankings.

Muthu

Reply With Quote
Reply

Viewing: SEO Chat ForumsSearch Engine StrategiesE-Commerce Development > Spam issues


Thread Tools  Search this Thread 
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes  Rate This Thread 
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
View Your Warnings | New Posts | Latest News | Latest Threads | Shoutbox
Forum Jump


Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
  
 





© 2003-2008 by Developer Shed. All rights reserved. DS Cluster 4 hosted by Hostway
Stay green...Green IT