1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Best way to title blog posts for better ranking?

Hi,
    I'm new to all this SEO stuff and I have been reading many articles to help me learn but I would like a clear answer on how to title
    blog posts to get better search results. Some articles I have read say to use your key words in the beginning of the title and to make a
    catchy and engaging title but my manager (whom I'm writing them for) says that the title should be plain and simple as possible. He
    thinks a title with just one simple keyword will help the blog rank higher on Google. Please let me know your thoughts on this, I would appreciate any helpful tips!

Thank you
  3. Administrator
    SEO Chat Hero (2000 - 2499 posts)

Hm! Well, speaking as an internet citizen, the articles that I click on and engage with are the ones with catchy/exciting titles. Sites like Buzzfeed and UpWorthy get lots of engagement on their blog posts and articles because, in part, their titles are the kinds of things that people really want to click on to learn more. They're mysterious sometimes - alluring, maybe - and they fire off a spark that begs to be fed in your mind. Think of a fencer or a veil dancer - you want to show just enough to get people to pay attention, but not so much that you give everything away in the first blush.

I don't know how wise it is to imitate the big players to a T, though - they know their style so well that it's like, why compete with that? So a blog's titles need to have a cohesive voice, too. If you were to post on reddit, "Give me your best impression of an UpWorthy title," you'd see that they all fit certain criteria. Same for Buzzfeed, and they'd be subtly different than UpWorthy's formula.