1. Savior of the Whales
    SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)

What Is Yahoo Search ....

I have been trying to analize the serps at google compared to yahoo and find some kind of patterns ....

unfortuniately ... i am at a LOSS to see any which appear to give me any insignt into what they are doing ....

why dont we all look over the serps we know well and try to see some BROAD patterns of DIFFERENCES ... it is much easier to see patterns in things you know well .... maybe then that will give us some clues what they are doing ..??

Here is the few patterns i have seen ... i am only studying the top 40 serps

1) i do NOT see any DMOZ or google directory listings in the serps at yahoo
    2) i think i see MORE top serps at yahoo with interior page urls (not the index page) (it seems google tends to show the index page more often)
    3) i think i see more hyphenated file names at yahoo ...
    4) it seems the BIG very popular sites do not show as high at yahoo as at google .... i'll see a homepage kind of site on top of a really popular PR 9 kind of site ... on google that PR 9 site is #1, at yahoo it has a backpage in the #8 spot ...
    5) yahoo shows multiple listings for the same site or subdomains ... google seems to eleminate those ...
    6) here is one which may be interesting ....... i seem to see LESS SITES ranked high in the serps at yahoo that have GOOGLE AD WORDS ADS ..... maybe this is something of use ..... does anyone running ad words ads notice a ranking penalty at yahoo??

7) somehow yahhoo seems to identify mirrow sites ... and they show the least popular site ... not the most popular one ..... i saw mirrow sites our competitors have which i never even knew of before ....

none of this really tells me what yahoo is doing so different to come up with such dramatically different serps ...